Reviews

For reviews by independent critics please read/visit the following;

The Times 50 Best cottages!
The Times March 2014 Travel section ’50 best cabins, cottages and castles’. We are No 2 in Best for Families;
“This funky house is perfect for families or extended family holiday together. Younger children will love playing in the child-sized painted gypsy caravan in the garden, where a timbered cabin with a double bedroom and bunk room are located. The main house has a light-filled open-plan kitchen/diner. There are two double rooms plus a bunk room for three and an attic room with a single bed. Go horse riding, take a boat trip on the river,  and if you don’t fancy cooking, there’s a gastro pub next door.”

Sawdays Special Places to Stay. Sawdays Ploughmans Cottage page (opens in new window)
Willow dens in the garden, sofas by the wood-burner, a stylish fun ‘shed’ for glampers, and fab food from the pub next door…  A perfect position – in a tiny village, on the edge of the New Forest, next to a pub serving delicious food, a cycle ride from bird hides and beach, a sail’s throw from Lymington. It’s full of surprises, too. Find a long red-brick cottage with a delightful artistic décor, and, alongside, an amazing shed for glampers (posh campers) with sofa, kitchenette, wood-burner and a wonderful antique four-poster bed; a hot outdoor shower is on its way. Back in the house, the kitchen/dining area is the hub and it’s beautifully equipped. There’s a cool American fridge, a table for 8, quirky colourful lighting and a great big square window for gorgeous garden views. (A gardener pops by from time to time and the vegetables are all for you; there arScreen Shot 2015-06-02 at 14.29.34e hens sometimes, too.) You get two bedrooms on the ground floor (one with an extra bed on a high mezzanine.) Upstairs find the master suite under the eaves, flooded with light. Bathrooms are fab, there are lots of toys for children and a big deep blue sofa squeezes itself around a wood-burner and TV. Outside: grass for games, a terrace for barbecues, stabling for your horse. Lovely!”

i-escape – we are listed as ‘New Forest Eco Cottage’; Our review on i-escape (opens in new window). This is a small excerpt – the rest of the review is very thorough and fair.
Screen Shot 2015-06-02 at 14.32.18

“Tucked away on the edge of the New Forest, this funky, fun-filled house for 6-12 is a perfect summer getaway for (extended) families. People may come to the New Forest for a dose of lung-cleansing, but this funky house – sleeping up to 6 adults and 6 kids – really is a breath of fresh air. Inside its red-brick walls you’ll find contemporary rooms full of light, art and fun. An open-plan kitchen-diner with a glowing heart lamp, retro sky-blue fridge and woollen clouds floating under the eaves; a three-tier bunk room with dalmation-spotted pouffes and toys for the kids; a cosy sitting room with eco woodburner, glossy books and the latest DVDs for the grown ups. In one bedroom, a feature mural of sun-dappled silver birches brings the forest in, while another room sits in a timbered cabin halfway down the garden – perfect for glampers. Slip out through concertina’d French windows (double glazed, of course) to find raised veg beds, ‘twigloos’ of willow branches, long lawns fringed with daffs in spring and fresh apples in autumn; and a child-sized gypsy caravan for hours of role play. There’s a shingly-marshy beach a mile away, pretty Lymington just beyond, horse-ridi
ng at Brockenhurst, and miles of New Forest hiking and cycling ways to roam at will. Best of all, perhaps, is the gastropub next door: superb food and local ales, which you can just bring home if domestic apathy sets in.

Reviews from guests;

We are now using Upfront Reviews. This is part of our new booking system.

Reviews are public and independent – like TripAdvisor.

You can access them here thru our main website or on UpFront Reviews.com

guest reveiw plamns 18:12:15

Screen Shot 2015-06-02 at 14.59.15 Screen Shot 2015-06-02 at 14.55.14 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

photo-2photo 3 photo 1

From Tripadvisor review;

What a lovely place to stay. We booked this place for a long weekend at the last minute so feel very lucky that we found it. It’s well furnished/appointed and well laid out with a lovely kitchen/dining area with bi-fold doors out onto the garden. Love the log burners too! And, what a lovely garden! Plenty of room for the dog and kids to run around. We we’re very lucky with the weather and managed to eat outside by the outhouse and veg garden a few times. A nice country pub next door with good beers and honest food (although pricey I thought). Fantastic having a pub next door!!! I was worried about the potential for noise initially, but literally did not hear a single bit of pub noise all weekend. Would certainly highly recommend this place and will probably come again as the new Forrest is an excellent get away. This place is really well located away from hussle and bustle, but close enough to Lymington not to be cut off.”  From ‘Siruajo’ Haywards Heath – March 2014. 

photo 3-1 photo 2-1

“Wow, you’ve done this really beautifully, the finish in the renovation is amazing in the house. The shed is so cool, and now we are all arguing about who is going to sleep in the triple bunk”. Lori. Sept 2012.

Thank you for a magical stay. You really have made the house up beautifully. The kids had a ball, we love the bunks and love the bath products by the way. Everything was just perfect. Paul Nov 2012. 
 

“Hi Rachel,
I just wanted to drop you a line to say what a truly wonderful time we had at Ploughman’s cottage. You really have done a wonderful job in renovating the place. It really is very special. We will be recommending to all our friends and hope to revisit again soon.
Many, many thanks again, Cerian” New Year 2012/13

“Jack Ramsays pictures of the New Forest animals are quite extraordinary, a budding artist for sure”. Laura. Sept 2012.

Ploughman’s cottage is a beautiful cottage with well-kept, picturesque gardens and a modern and classy interior. Each bedroom has its own unique charm from the contemporary triple bunk bedroom to the rustic four poster ‘shed’ bedroom in the summer house. The house has two great bathrooms, one with an enormous fully tiled wet room shower and  an en-suite off the master bedroom. The house is full nice ‘touches’ such as odd bits of homemade furniture, the retro SMEG fridge and the glass walled dining area that gives you full aspect of the garden and patio. If you are blessed with sunny weather as we were on our recent visit, you will find yourself spending all day in the garden, whether it be having drinks around the family patio table, BBQing for breakfast or just lazing in the hammock. The intelligent layout of bunk rooms and master bedrooms makes it perfect for families with children or groups of friends. So, If you like the rural and charming life that the new forest has to offer but also want the convenience and niceties of modern living, this is the place for you..”
Toby Moore, September 2012

“So nice to have up to date magazines. We pulled the Gypsy Caravan out on the lawn and the kids played in it all day. Lovely.” Ellie. Sept 2012.